Contact Us

What If I Have Dietary Requirements?

Ireland is one of the best destinations on the planet for people with dietary requirements.

That said, please alert us to your specific needs before your tour departure:

Allergens on Menus

Here's the good news...

By law, all food businesses in Ireland must clearly list potential allergens on menus.

There are 14 allergens that must be declared.

They include:

  • 🌾 Cereals containing gluten - wheat (such as spelt and khorasan wheat), rye, barley, oats Note: The cereal name e.g 'wheat', must be declared and highlighted, not 'gluten'
  • 🦀 Crustaceans e.g. crabs, prawns, lobsters
  • 🍳 Eggs
  • 🐟 Fish
  • 🥜 Peanuts
  • ❎ Sesame Seeds
  • 🌰 Other Nuts (almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, cashews, pecan nuts, brazil nuts, pistachio nuts, macademia/Quensland nut) Note: The name of the nut, e.g. 'almond', must be declared and highlighted, not 'nuts'
  • 🟢 Soybeans
  • 🥛 Milk
  • ❎ Celery
  • 🍴 Mustard
  • 🍷 Sulphur Dioxide and sulphites (at concentrations of more than 10mg/kg or 10mg/L in terms of total sulphur dioxide) – used as a preservative
  • ❎ Lupin
  • 🦪 Molluscs e.g. mussels, oysters, squid, snails
Allergens that must be listed on menus in Ireland


Allergens that must be listed on menus in Ireland, by law.


It can be challenging finding specifically kosher restaurants in Ireland.

This is especially true of our off the beaten track destinations.

Please alert us about kosher dietary requirements in your group before your tour:

We can inform your hotels and restaurants ahead of your visit.

Feel free to inform your server upon arrival at a hotel or restaurant. We will always do our best to accommodate you!

Learn more about eating kosher in Ireland


Gluten intolerances and Coeliac disease are common in Ireland.

All potential allergens are listed on café and restaurant menus, by law.

Can't find an option that suits you on a menu? Just ask your server. Chefs can replace or remove an item on a dish to suit you.

Find out more about eating gluten-free in Ireland

Dairy-Free, Vegetarian and Vegan

Fantastic produce. Local sourcing. High organic standards. There's never been a better time to go veggie or vegan in Ireland.

Nearly every restaurant you’ll visit on your Vagabond or Driftwood tour will have at least one dairy-free vegetarian or vegan option on the menu. Often there are several alternatives.

Whether you have special dietary requirements or not, here are some more excellent foods to try while in Ireland:

Foods for people with special dietary requirements to try while travelling in Ireland


Foods for people with special dietary requirements to try while travelling in Ireland.

Read more about eating vegetarian in Ireland


Cookies on our website:
We use cookies to collect information about web visitors to analyse site usage and assist in marketing, including advertising personalisation. By clicking "I'm OK with cookies", you agree to the storing of cookies on your device. Choose "Cookie Settings" to pick specific cookies or change your preferences.
I'm OK With Cookies Cookie Settings ?

💰 EARLY BIRD OFFER: Pay 2024 prices for your 2025 Driftwood tour. Save up to €222!